Sustainability

The ALD is an organisation with Environmental Sustainability at its heart. We acknowledge that we are in the midst of a climate emergency.  The lighting industry is vulnerable to being accused of being profligate in our use of resources. Our art uses many elements and resources that are at the heart of the sustainability debate. We believe for our industry to continue to thrive, we must acknowledge that the way we work will have to change. 

 

Our Sustainability Working group are a dedicated team working towards a more sustainable lighting industry. The members are: 

Co-Chairs
Paule Constable & Jess Bernberg

Team

Darran Curtis
Rob Halliday

Matt Harding

Chris Mence
Lucía Sánchez Roldán

And a committed group of supporters. If you are interested in join the group or want to find out more please email: sustainability@ald.org.uk

 

We are currently working on a new ALD Green Guide and Code of Practice which can be found here when completed.

 

Resources

 

Theatre and the Environment:

The Theatre’s Trust 

Julie’s Bicycle Sustainable Production Guide

Julie's Bicycle Green Music Guide 

Staging Change

Staging Change Green Guide

Greening Theatre Landscapes: Developing Sustainable Practice Futures in Theatre Graduates 

 

Arts-Related Environmental Organisations/Declarers:

The Sustainability in Production Alliance (SIPA) http://www.sipa.org.uk/

Centre for Sustainable Practice in the Arts: www.sustainablepractice.org 

Julie’s Bicycle: www.juliesbicycle.com 

Staging Change: https://www.stagingchange.com

Arcola Theatre: https://www.arcolatheatre.com/about/sustainability/ 

Royal Court Theatre: https://royalcourttheatre.com/about/environmental-policy/ 

 

Recycling:

Set Exchange: www.set-exchange.com

Green Clover: https://www.greenclover.com 

WEEE Recycling Information: https://www.hse.gov.uk/waste/waste-electrical.htm 

The Restart Project: https://therestartproject.org 

 

General Information:

Gov.uk: https://www.gov.uk/environment/waste-environment

The Carbon Trust: www.carbontrust.co.uk 

The Committee on Climate Change: https://www.theccc.org.uk/

The Energy Saving Trust: www.energysavingtrust.org.uk 

Global Action Plan: www.globalactionplan.org.uk 

SusTrans: https://www.sustrans.org.uk 

XR, The Gigantic Change. Your guide to taking action: https://thegiganticchange.com/

Superhero Clubhouse (US): http://www.superheroclubhouse.org/#

 

Green Tarrifs:

Good Energy: https://www.goodenergy.co.uk 

 

Useful sites:

PowerTrack: www.FocusTrack.co.uk/powertrack