Standing With Us

'‘While applauding and supporting the EU’s overall ambition to reduce energy consumption, we the undersigned support the ALD in seeking an exemption from the proposed 2020 Eco-design lighting regulations for stage and studio lighting.

This exemption would recognise the specialist nature of this equipment and the way it is used, and in particular recognise the physical and optical complexities and challenges of designing equipment of this type that can meet the proposed energy efficiency and standby power requirements while also providing the functional performance required by its users."

Supporters include the 83,000 people who have signed our online petition, plus the following companies, organisations and individuals, listed in alphabetical order. 


A.C Entertainment Technologies

A.C. Special Projects 




​Ambersphere Solutions

Artistic Licence


​Brother, Brother & Sons


​Clay Paky 

​Eaton - Zero88

​Elation Lighting 


Feld Entertainment, Inc.

Flashlight Ltd.


​German Light Products (GLP)


​Howard Eaton Lighting Ltd.

HSL Group


Kino Flo Lighting Systems

Lamp and Pencil ​

Philips Entertainment Lighting

Production Resource Group Ltd. ( PRG )


​Robert Juliat

Stage Electrics


White Light




Art and Theatre Institute, Prague

Cameron Mackintosh Ltd - Cameron Mackintosh and Nick Allott

Edinburgh International Festival 

English National Opera 


Hampstead Theatre

Hull Truck Theatre 

Manchester International Festival 

Mermaid County Wicklow Arts Centre, Ireland

National Theatre

The Old Vic

The Place

Prague Quadrennial 

The Riverbank Arts Centre, Ireland 

Royal Court Theatre 

​Royal Exchange Theatre 

The Royal Opera House


Sheffield Theatres 

Sonia Friedman Productions 

Sadler's Wells Theatre 

Teatro Due di Parma

Theatre Royal, Waterford

Theatres Trust

​West Yorkshire Playhouse




Clive Barda OBE - Photographer 

Mike Bartlett - Playwright

Alistair Beaton - Playwright

Sir Matthew Bourne OBE - Choreographer and Artistic Director of New Adventures

Sir Kenneth Branagh - Actor & Director

Peter Brook CH, CBE - Director

Bill Bryden Stage & Film Director and Screenwriter

Jonathan Church - Director

Marco Cifre - Technical Manager at The Place Theatre

Farooq Chaudhry- Producer 

Bunny Christie - Designer 

James Dacre - Director and Artistic Director at Royal & Derngate , Northampton

Stephen Daldry CBEFilm and Theatre Director

Olafur Eliasson - Visual Artist

Marie-Helene Estienne - Playwright and Screenwriter

Anna Fleischle- Marriott - Designer 

Sonia Friedman - Producer 

Ian Gibson - Head of Lighting, sound and AV at The Royal Lyceum

Katrina Gilroy - Technical Producer, Bridge Theatre

Michael Grandage - Director 

Sir David Hare - Writer

Robert Hastie - Artistic Director of Sheffield Theatres

Garry Hynes - Director 

Nicholas Hytner - Director, Bridge Theatre

Rob Icke - Director

Lesley Joseph - Actor 

Akram Khan MBE - Choreographer & Artistic Director of  Akram Khan Company

Lord Andrew Lloyd Webber - Composer and producer

Ingrid Lorentzen - Director Norwegian National Ballet 

Russell Maliphant - Choreographer and Artistic Director of Russell Maliphant Company 

Sir Cameron Mackintosh - Chairman and Director of Cameron Mackintosh Ltd

Antony McDonald - Opera and Theatre Designer and Director

John McGrath - Artistic Director and CEO of Manchester International Festival

Wayne McGregor OBE - Artistic Director of Studio Wayne McGregor & Resident Choreographer at The Royal Ballet

The Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Conor McPherson ​- Writer and Director 

Roger Michell -  ​Film and Stage Director 

Vicki Mortimer - Designer 

Elizabeth Newman - Artistic Director Bolton Octagon

Rufus Norris - Artistic Director of The National Theatre                          

Michael  Nunn  OBE  and William Trevitt OBE - Founders and Artistic Directors  BalletBoyz

Francis O'Connor - Designer

Panti Bliss - Queen of Ireland - Performer  

Lynne Parker - Director 

Johan Persson - Theatre Photographer

Anne Reid - Actress

Greg Ripley-Duggan - Executive Producer at Hampstead Theatre

Andrew Scott - Actor

Alistair Spalding - CEO and Artistic Director - Sadlers Wells

Lisa Spirling - Artistic Director Theatre 503

Nick Starr - Director, Bridge Theatre

David Threfall - Actor

Leo Warner - Director, 59 Productions

Don Warrington - Actor

Ric Watts - Senior Producer at The Royal Exchange , Manchester  

Willie White - Artistic Director of Dublin Festival 

Emma Wilson - Technical Director at Sadlers Wells Theatre

Peter Wright - Chairman Hyde Festival Theatre, Manchester




Alex Cann - Senior Lecturer Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts 

Dr. Nick Hunt​Head of School : Design , Management and Technical Arts at Rose Bruford College of Theatre and Performing Arts

Natalie Jones - Head Electrician and Lecturer at Royal Holloway University 

Nigel Lewis - ​Lecturer in Theatre Lighting at Kingston College and at London College of Music

Nick Moran - Course Leader BA Theatre Lighting Design and BA production lighting at Royal Central School of Speech and Drama ​​